Real Friends – Torn In Two EP (Pure Noise Records) – 17 September 2021

Wow, what a great day for some new music! The Illinois pop-punk quintet Real Friends have announced their new EP titled Torn In Two which is set to be released on 17 September 2021 via Pure Noise Records. After the amicable departure of their former singer, Real Friends forged on to continue with their original vision, making great music for their devoted fan base. With the recent addition of vocalist Cody Muraro (formerly of Youth Fountain & Parting Ways) fans certainly have a lot to look forward to! 

Torn In Two has five main songs with a ‘B-Side’ consisting of re-imagined versions of the tracks. Produced by Andrew Wade, who has worked on albums for notable punk bands A Day to Remember and Neck Deep, as well as Mike Green, who has co-written and produced on projects for Sum 41, New Found Glory, and The Aces, this EP is bound to be a hit! The entire motif is based on the torn-ness and feelings of separation we can all relate to lately. Even the album artwork depicts people who are separated to tie the whole theme together.

Right from the start we’re taken back to the familiar Real Friends sound with Remedy for Reality which is packed full of crunchy riffs, driving percussion and heartfelt lyrics delivered with tons of passion. Nervous Wreck is undoubtedly my new anthem with the lyrics, ‘Because I’m more or less a nervous wreck, I’m staying in, I’m out of it, A ghost in my reflection, I wanna see me again”. Every great pop-punk EP needs an acoustic jam and Teeth does not disappoint. The emotionally raw lyrics paired with delicate acoustic guitar chords and melodies is exactly what I needed.

About “Teeth”, vocalist Cody of Real Friends shares, “Teeth is a very personal song for me. It touches on some of the years leading up to just before I joined Real Friends. I had gone through some of the most challenging years of my life. After sharing some of my experiences with the group and Andrew Wade, Andrew said, ‘ Ok, brutal, now let’s turn that into a song.’ ”

Spinning and Storyteller round out the EP with their invigorating vibes that Real Friends fans all know and love. The five re-imagined versions of these songs are all excellent as well. I won’t spoil anything but the full band version of Teeth definitely hits differently! Real Friends will be busy this fall, supporting State Champs on the forthcoming Pure Noise Tour along with labelmates Four Year Strong, Just Friends and Bearings. The 24-city tour kicks off on September 14th at Brooklyn Bowl in Nashville, TN making stops across the U.S. in Detroit, San Antonio, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, Boston and more before wrapping up in New York, NY at Irving Plaza on 22nd October.

Make sure you pick some new Real Friends merch and one of their sweet vinyl variants at the link below! You can also stream and download the EP on all your favorite platforms.

All content © Silence Is The Enemy. Not to be reproduced in part or in whole without the express written permission of Silence Is The Enemy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *